The New 52 – Wave 2!

Posted: December 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

So, continuing my completest run through of the New 52, I’ve gotten through Wave 2. It always takes awhile as I wait for the library to get all the books, but I made it. Also the decision was made to discontinue reading volumes that didn’t generate enough Wave 1 interest. So here it is, Wave 2!

The Best – Titles I really liked

dial-h4-cropped-500x359

Batman
Batman: The Dark Knight
Batman and Robin
Batman Inc.
Dial H

The Good – Titles I liked, but not as much

Jaime_Reyes_Prime_Earth_001

Animal Man
Batwing
Blue Beetle
Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E.
G.I. Combat
Green Lantern
Detective Comics
Swamp Thing
Red Lanterns
Wonder Woman
Justice League Dark
DC Universe Presents
Supergirl
Green Lantern Corps
Green Lantern: New Guardians
Aquaman
Captain Atom

The OK – Titles that have some good things, but are mostly nothing special.

allstarwestern23658

All Star Western
Birds of Prey
Catwoman
Justice League
Batgirl
Justice League International
Stormwatch
Suicide Squad
Demon Knights
Red Hood and the Outlaws
The Flash
Nightwing
Resurrection Man

The Ugly – Avoid at all cost

ga17

Action Comics
Green Arrow
Earth 2
Batwoman
World’s Finest

Dropped – Wave 1 was no good, so I stopped reading.

Screen Shot 2012-05-02 at 6.14.30 PM

I, Vampire
Voodoo
Deathstroke
Legion of Superheroes
Legion Lost
The Ravagers
 (A new series, but the Culling storyline was so lame, I didn’t even bother with it)
Grifter
Superman
Superboy
Teen Titans
The Savage Hawkman
The Fury of Firestorm

The Verdict

As you can see, I dropped a whole bunch of them. But really, most of them are from the Young Justice line and have to do with the Teen Titans or Legion of Superheroes, who I really don’t like in the first place. Batman had a really good wave, and the Scarecrow story in Batman: The Dark Knight, was the best Scarecrow story I’ve read, ever. Superman is very underwhelming in both his titles. That being said, even the “OK” books are decent reads, and the stories coming up are good (Rotworld for one). On to Wave Three, with some new titles, so here…we…go.

Side note: Wave One books canceled were: Mister Terrific, Hawk and Dove, Static Shock, Blackhawks, Men of War, and OMAC. New titles for Wave Two are: Earth 2, Worlds’ Finest, Batman Inc.,The Ravagers, Dial H, and G.I. Combat.

Leave a Reply

